Belsay Hall Croquet Club


Middlesbrough AC Handicap Tournament 2012 

Derek Johnson wins Middlesbrough Handicap 4-5th May.

     Eight people, some from Bury and Belsay as well as Middlesbrough, braved some bitingly cold conditions (mainly on the first day). Three excellent lawns meant that double-banking was minimised and also involved players equitably. Handicaps ranged from 18 down to 4½.

     As in previous years we used an 18-point format with two-hour time-limits; four rounds on Saturday and three on Sunday. Even with hoops tightened further for the second day, only two games went to time (both involving an "Aunt Emma").

     Final positions, decided on the ‘who beat who’ basis, pushed Dave Turner into runner-up place.  Derek will be receiving, to add to his trophy, a significant reduction from his 18 handicap!

                                     Wins    Place                                                Wins     Place

Derek Johnson (Belsay)      6       1st               Barbara Young (Bury)      3          5th

Dave Turner (Belsay)         6      2nd               Roger Staples (Mbro)      3          6th

Walter Sanders (Mbro)     4      3rd               Nigel Roberts (Mbro)      2          7th

Dennis Scarr (Mbro)         4      4th               Geoff Young (Bury)          0          8th

Charles Waterfield